Common, every day cruelty, redux

On 10 October 11, I wrote the blog titled above. I will reblog it, if I can figure out how.

If I cannot, please go to it using my archive button.

There are few things that we humans do to each other as well as to animals, that disturbs and upsets me more than cruelty.

When I hear about kids snapping because they’ve been bullied relentlessly, I understand, having been the victim of bullies for much of my life.
When I see dogs chained in backyards, or horses that are almost unrecognizable because they have no meat on their bones and are locked up in a shed, I want to snap and hurt the perpetrators.

But I don’t, because it would do no good, and I don’t like jail. And, honestly, even were I to do something like blow up and hurt one bully, or neglectful owner, it wouldn’t change a thing.

I wouldn’t even make a good juror, for were I vetted as a potential juror on an animal abuse/child abuse/neglect trial, I’d be kicked out the door by the defense attorney.

I am too easily reduced to rage, spitting the foulest profanity (in five different languages) when I hear of abuse, neglect, and cruelty to serve as a juror. I can no more be an unbiased, ‘willing to listen to both sides of the issue”, “with no preconceptions” juror,  than I can fly.

What brings me to write this, now, is this. I found this poem in one of the many boxes I’ve got, ones filled with columns clipped from the paper, articles and pictures for the book I’ll never write.

I warn you now, this poem is emotionally painful. It tears my heart into shreds.

I have no idea whatsoever who the author is, but he or she deserves a medal.

“Alone Again”

“I wish someone would tell me

What it is that I’ve done wrong,

Why I have to stay chained up

and left alone so long.

They seemed so glad to have me,

When I came here as a pup,

There were so many things we’d do

While I was growing up.

They couldn’t wait to train me,

as companion and a friend.

They told me they would never fear

Being left along again.

The children said they’d feed me,

Said they’d brush me every day,

they’d play with me and walk me,

If only I could stay.

But now the family hasn’t time.

They often say I shed.

They won’t allow me in the house,

Not even to be fed.

The children never walk me,

They always say “Not now!”

I wish that I could please them,

If only I knew how.

All I have is love, you see,

I wish they would explain,

Why they said they wanted me,

Then left me on a chain.”

I am so sorry to you, my reader. I don’t mean to inflict pain on you, but this needs to be shared. It is too heavy for me anymore. I see cruelty and neglect everyday, benign cruelty, thoughtless neglect. I need to share this pain, and I apologize if it hurts you.

And if it helps one soul, be it an animal or a person, maybe it will do some good.

About subodai213

Retired U.N.C.L.E agent. Living in Laurasia.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.