Staycations and photographs

It’s Memorial Day weekend. While I’ve not left town, I’m on ‘staycation’. Sue is in Montana, visiting family, and I have Raven ”’all to myself’.

Yesterday, a lovely May evening, I was puttering about with Raven when my husband showed up…with camera.

Now I must explain. Up until now, I’ve purposefully avoided having my picture taken with Raven. Call me superstitious, but in the case of all of the four horses I’ve leased, seemingly within minutes of having my photo taken with the horse, the owner did something so egregious that I vacated the lease and left the b—h with her horse.

I grew gunshy…silly, I know, but I began to think, my picture taken with my leased horse always resulted in being screwed over by the owner and by extension, losing the horse.
If I don’t allow my picture to be taken with him, I won’t lose him.

This situation, though, is different. It’s not a lease. It’s a sharing without money but from which all of us-Sue, Raven, and I-all get a giant return.

Sue has chided me in the past on my reluctance to have my photo taken with Raven. She’s even taken pictures of me and the horse.
But tablets/phones are no substitutes for a real camera. Sue, (bless her heart) has no eye for photographic composition. And one must learn how to take photographs..at least good ones. Humans are easy to photograph. Animals? Not so much.

Yes, one must learn how to take pictures of horses. For instance, this is a picture taken of Raven from the top of a small rise. His body is angled towards the camera (mine, by the way, but Sue was using it). I mentioned to Sue that the spot for the photograph wasn’t ideal, but she dismissed my dismay. Because while one’s eye and brain automatically corrects for any distortion, the camera isn’t that smart. Consequently, you get this:

Improperly positioned camera = horribly distorted horse

Improperly positioned camera = horribly distorted horse

No, I didn’t take it. In fact, I’m holding Raven, but the distortion did me even more a disservice than it did Raven. I’m not vain but I do have my pride. 😉

Note that his head is BIG, his forelegs are SHORT and his back end is FAR from the camera. He doesn’t look like this in reality.
This is not a good photo. But it IS instructive on how NOT to photograph a horse.

There’s an excellent book, now long out of print, written and photographed by a horse photographer (Darol Dickenson) titled
“Photographing Horses and Other Livestock”. It’s a bible for properly photographing animals, especially horses. I read it. I have it and no it’s not for sale.
It taught me how to properly photograph horses.

Luckily, my husband is a gifted and self taught photographer. He is a very good. For instance, here’s a picture he took of a lovely visitor to our backyard:
Long tailed weasel

The only problem I have with my photographer husband is that I seldom, if ever, see any of his work!

But yesterday was an exception. He stopped by the barn and said, head over to those trees and I’ll get your picture.

Raven is, amazingly, a photo ham. He LOVES the attention.

So here we are: a very good photo of my lovely Raven, and me, not so lovely, but very happy. Raven and me

About subodai213

Retired U.N.C.L.E agent. Living in Laurasia.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.