That’s horse racing

I was wrong.

Five weeks ago, I was certain California Chrome was going to win the Triple Crown.

Alas, I was wrong.

California Chrome finished 5th in the Belmont, dashing a hundred thousand hopes that we’d finally, after all these years, have a Triple Crown winner.

I watched it on TV, of course. The images of the horse in the saddling paddock made me wonder. My, he’s relaxed. A chestnut TB, calm and quiet? He was alert, inquisitive, and well behaved. Something’s wrong. Is he TOO quiet?

I was right, although I was rooting for Chrome to win. I don’t know if he ever made it to front of the pack. It seemed as if the jockey was moving him here, there, or holding him back (it IS a mile and a half) or whatever a hindsighted arm chair quarterback can say. Suffice to say, California Chrome never really kicked into gear and finished 5th.

I think it’s because he was tired.

I beginning to believe the “theys” out there who say three weeks rest between the Preakness and the Belmont isn’t enough are right. I’ve resisted this, mostly subconsciously, because I cut my horsemans teeth on reading about TB racing. I used to be able to recite all the Triple Crown winners. I knew about the match race between War Admiral and Seabiscuit. I knew who Sunny Jim Fitzsimmons was. Calumet Farm was Mecca for me. I knew from books and accounts of the Iron Horses…horses like Citation,like Seabiscuit, horses of superequine athleticism, horses that seemed could win at any distance any time.

Now I realize those horses are memorable PRECISELY because they were above the rest of their cohort. I was coming to that, I believe, after watching Chrome’s performance in the Derby. He clearly outclassed the other horses, and it was that character that led me to believe that he was going to go all the way.

The horses being bred now are desperately fast, but don’t have the stamina the horses of the late 40’s and 50’s had. For that matter, by the 50’s, the horses were already losing that certain grittiness of character. Citation won the Triple Crown in 1948 and it took another 25 years before Secretariat won it. (followed by Seattle Slew and Affirmed, 1977 and 1978 respectively). Horses, back in the golden age of Triple Crown winners every two or three years, were raced on harder tracks, treated like horses, rather than potential breeding stallions, run hard and put away wet. (not really, but you know what I mean.) They may not have been as fast, but they had bigger hooves, they weren’t running on Lasix or Bute, they weren’t wormed with ivermectin as babies, they weren’t pared down in the breeding shed to the point where there isn’t a superfluous ounce of flesh on them. Whereas these days, Thoroughbred racers are treated like the hot house flowers they are.

And I think it’s because of what I saw today, the owners and trainers HAVE to treat them as delicate creatures. They’ve been bred for speed, not stamina. In fact, my husband, who studiously avoids anything horse, asked if Chrome lost because he had no stamina? I said, the horses with plenty of stamina are too slow.

To add to the disappointment, these days, trainers and owners pick and choose their races. It was repeated several times today…the vast majority of horses that have won the Belmont did so because (I’m conjecturing) they didn’t race in the Preakness. In today’s case, the winner, a horse named Totalist didn’t race in either the Derby or the Preakness. The horses that skip the Derby/Preakness do so for several reasons, but in the end, it looks like they’re merely spoilsports.

That’s a disappointment that many could take with a big share of anger…you didn’t race in the Derby because you didn’t have the horse, but you still think you have the right to come in and upset the Hopeful Triple Crown apple cart with your not as good horse?

Part of me says, let’s make it so that you CAN’T run in the Belmont if you didn’t race if the first two races.

In the Derby, Chrome won going away. His acceleration at the end of the race reminded me of Secretariat, and I thought, ah ha!

Two weeks later, he won again…but with not so much room between him and Commanding Curve, the horse who placed. Curve was catching up, by the way, and had he had another furlong, I believe he would have beaten Chrome. The point though, is that Chrome didn’t have the stamina he’d shown in the Derby. Even though the Preakness is a bit shorter a race (again, something that makes no sense), he didn’t have a full gas tank.

So it’s no real surprise that, even with an additional week of rest, Chrome was beaten.

In the end, it comes down to something the Jockey Club needs to address. Either change the rules, making it so that a horse must race in the first two races in order to make the Belmont, or…lengthen the time between races.

I’m betting that if the two ideas are looked at, the JC will steadfastly resist the latter. It’s just too hidebound a body, it hews too closely to some traditions. (By which I mean, allowing the use of drugs at meets is a relatively new cave in to Big Money)
The mindset of “We’ve ALWAYS run the Preakness two weeks and the Belmont five weeks after the Derby” even though, even though..even though the horses aren’t the sturdy running machines they were back in the days when the tracks were rough and the stakes not as high.

In any case, the point may be moot. Whether they admit it or not, horse racing in this country is on a steep downward slide. The Preakness almost didn’t go off two years ago, or was it as recent as last year? because of so many factors: the economy sucks, pressures from developers to turn race tracks into subdivisions, the fewer number of breeders, the intense and overwhelming competition from other forms of gambling, the general lack of interest in horses.

To paraphrase an article I read the other day, horse racing, boxing and baseball are all ‘old’ sports, and all are seeing a decline in interest and participation. Like the tracks themselves, there’s too much competition from other bigger, money-making sports, i.e. football.

People are growing up now glued to their smartphones and tablets. There hasn’t been a good horse movie made since “War Horse”.  The television producers, when they televise the races, downplay the horse and focus on the humans. The unintended consequence has become that a horse, to the vast majority of people who still ‘play the ponies’ is merely a four legged number running down a track.

Yet another factor is the increasingly urban nature of our planet. I know people who’ve not only never met a live horse, they aren’t even sure what a horse IS.  My dear husband, bless his soul, had no experience whatsoever with horses until he made the huge mistake of marrying me. The first time he was closer than a television screen to a horse was the time he  accompanied me to an appointment to massage a 16.2 TB. He was amazed at how comfortable I was with the horse. “You just waltzed into that stall with that great big horse, I had no idea they got so big.”

You and I don’t think this is such a big thing, but to the non horseman, it is.

The sad thing is, we are a dying breed. We are. Our great grandchildren will think of horses as anachronisms, like wooden sailing ships and typewriters. Their grandchildren-if the human race hasn’t poisoned itself into extinction-will group horses in with dinosaurs and mammoths.

We are a dying breed, all on our own.
Just like the racers.

About subodai213

Retired U.N.C.L.E agent. Living in Laurasia.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to That’s horse racing

  1. subodai213 says:

    While I don’t give a rat’s ass about sports that involve grown men running after a ball, I admit that at times, I do enjoy watching a football game. (American football, not soccer). There’s a military air to it, as the fabulous comedian George Carlin pointed out so well.
    (he had a joke about sports: Poor ghetto kids play basketball. Middle class suburbanites play softball. Exceedingly wealthy corporate executives play golf. Which means, the more money you make, the smaller your balls.) 😉

    But for the most part, you are right. I think the longest day of my life was spent at a ball park, watching a baseball game. Boringggggggggggg. It took me a while to realize that the game was stretched to almost unbearable limits because the game would stop every four or five minutes for the same amount of time…in order for the television channel producing and televising the game was running commercials. That’s right…they stop the play of the game in order to run commercials.

    Seldom is show jumping shown on free television here in the States. I am too rural to get cable and too cheap to pay for a specialized channel that might, maybe once in a while, show something horse related. But the last time I watched a show jumping competition, I had to shut it off. Some yammerhead doing the voice over was explaining to what she thought an exceedingly stupid audience what was going on. Every single moment was filled with her talking. Now me, I like to hear what’s going on. I like to hear the breathing of the horse, I like to count the hoofbeats so I know if the rider threw an extra one in? and the commentators constant nattering never allowed for that. Even worse, the commentator DIDN’T say a thing about the HORSE. I want to know about the horse: age, breed, NAME? And all I heard was the rider did this oh look she’s turning left oh her horse pulled a rail that means because it fell off the jump the rider gets four points penalty did the audience know that the rider has a dog named Boo and her kid just started kindergarten…….agggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggh.

    You’re right, TBs are mollycoddled these days. I might just re-assess my opinion on not allowing a horse into the Belmont if he’s not raced in the first two races. You make a very good point.

    I had a conversation with a fairly high ranking eventer at the WEG in 2010. She was retired from competition but still loved the game. She was upset by the new generation of riders. ‘They are all very good, very technical, and they plan their event right down to the last hoofbeat. Which means they don’t allow the horse to do the thinking.” “A good eventer, back in the old days, knew that she should let her horse do the thinking when things got ugly. His rider allowed him to make mistakes because there wasn’t so much on the line regarding points. A good cross country horse took four, five years of rough and tumble riding to learn how to extricate himself from a situation that could go bad, and the good riders had so many miles on him that she knew when to let the horse work it out. You don’t get that these days. The kids are shake and baked and while they can most definitely ride, they override the horse and when they get in trouble, they screw it up because they suddenly want the horse to figure it out. Which it’s not been allowed to learn how to do and it’s why Americans suck at international cross country.”
    That’s a long paraphrase but pretty much what she said, and it’s stuck with me.

  2. magreenlee says:

    I am a diehard rugby fan but, truly, I cannot understand the fascination with American football and baseball, nor with soccer. Baseball & soccer make for the most boring viewing possible, yet they earn prime time viewing spots and thousands of $$$ or €€€ in advertising. I do admit that American football has a bit more going for it but the TV coverage is so broken up with commercial breaks that I wouldn’t bother my ass watching it. I am left wondering time and time again why horse sports have lost their attraction to the general public. There is nothing more exciting than a nail-bitingly close photo finish, as a show jumping jump off that comes down to fractions of seconds and in my youth (forty years ago and more!!) everyone used to watch the racing broadcasts and coverage of international SJ competitions. I have no explanation for their fall in popularity, just a suspicion (akin to yours) that, as people become farther and farther removed from the land, they lose their connection with these great animals. When I was a kid, my friends & I we were all just one generation away from farming stock; now that has changed completely and the current generation of 30 year olds have grown up in an entirely artificial environment.
    Are we witnessing the demise of equine sports? Who knows. I sincerely hope not.
    As for the current breed of race horse lacking stamina, you’ve hit the nail on the head. These horses are also brought up in an artificial environment and are cosseted and mollycoddled throughout their lives. They no longer need to be tough, so it’s being bred out of them. Should they restrict the Belmont only to horses that have run in the Preakness & the Derby? I don’t think so – again that’s just dumbing-down the system and is just another form of mollycoddling. Maybe another truly great, iron-hearted horse, who has speed, stamina and endurance will come along. And maybe not.

Comments are closed.